Welsh Grand National Past Winners

The Welsh National since the turn of the century has been won by British trainers with Paul Nicholls and Alan King most successful in recent years

Welsh Grand National past winners roll of honour since the turn of the century has gone to all the leading trainers in the UK. One thing to note is that the Irish have not targeted this race in recent times as they have the Grand National at Aintree and as such have left it to the British trainers take this prize, possibly because the Irish have bigger fish to fry on their home turf.

In recent years Paul Nicholls has won the race in 2005 and 2004 with L'Aventure and Silver Birch, whom he sold and went on under his new Irish trainer to win the Aintree Grand National in 2007. Another trainer who is targeting the race is Alan King who won it with Helcon Genelardais in 2006 and was second in 2007 to Miko de Beauchene

As the Chepstow fences are not that hard to jump, this race tends to suit a more inexperienced horse carrying less weight and this is a good thing as it encourages trainers to run potential Grand National stars for the future in this race.

Welsh Grand National Roll Of Honour since 2000

  • 2016 Native River - R Johnson - C Tizzard
  • 2015 Mountainous - K Lee - J Moore
  • 2014 Emperor's Choice - V Williams - A Coleman
  • 2013 Mountainous - R Lee - P Moloney
  • 2012 Monbeg Dude - M Scudamore - P Carberry
  • 2011 Le Beau Bai - R Lee - C Poste
  • 2010 Synchronised - J O'Neill - AP McCoy
  • 2009 Dream Alliance - P Hobbs - T O'Brien
  • 2008 Notre Pere - T Dreaper - A Lynch
  • 2007 Miko de Beauchene - Robert Alner - A. Thornton
  • 2006 Halcon Genelardais - Alan King - W. Hutchinson
  • 2005 L' Aventure -  P. F. Nicholls - L. Aspell
  • 2004 Silver Birch - P. F. Nicholls - R. Walsh
  • 2003 Bindaree (IRE) - N A Twiston-Davies - C Llewellyn
  • 2002 Mini Sensation (IRE) - Jonjo O’Neill - A Dobbin
  • 2001 Supreme Glory (IRE) - P G Murphy - L Aspell
  • 2000 Jocks Cross (IRE) - Miss Venetia Williams - B J Crowley

Your bet is on!

Bet Slip (0)
Balance: £0.00
Remove all
The line, odds or availability of selections has changed.
Please review your betslip.
Total Stake: £ 0.00
Estimated Returns: £ 0.00
Bets are accepted in accordance with the operator's rules
and terms and conditions. Hillside (UK Sports) LP is licensed
and regulated by the British Gambling Commissioner
(Licence number 39563). Registered Office Hillside (UK Sports) LP
(registration number 117), Unit 1.1, First Floor, Waterport Place,
2 Europort Avenue, Gibraltar.