Past Winners

Welsh Grand National Past Winners

Welsh Grand National WinnersThe Welsh Grand National past winners roll of honour since the turn of the century has gone to all the leading trainers in the UK. One thing to note is that the Irish have not targeted this race in recent times as they have the Grand National at Aintree and as such have left it to the British trainers take this prize, possibly because the Irish have bigger fish to fry on their home turf.

In recent years Paul Nicholls has won the race in 2005 and 2004 with L'Aventure and Silver Birch, whom he sold and went on under his new Irish trainer to win the Aintree Grand National in 2007. Another trainer who is targeting the race is Alan King who won it with Helcon Genelardais in 2006 and was second in 2007 to Miko de Beauchene

As the Chepstow fences are not that hard to jump, this race tends to suit a more inexperienced horse carrying less weight and this is a good thing as it encourages trainers to run potential Grand National stars for the future in this race.

Welsh Grand National Roll Of Honour since 2000