Welsh National Trainers

Looking back over the last 10 years can sometimes assist in identifying which trainers like to win this race but this list may not be of great help as the trainers who have won this race over the last 10 years reads as a who's who of the training circuit


All the leading candidates are here including Paul Nicholls winner on two occasions and Alan King who won it in 2006 and runner up with the same horse on 2007. Then looking back a few years we see that Nigel Twiston Davies has got his name on the board twice over the last 10 years and Jonjo O'Neill also makes this distinguished list as does Ferdy Murphy.

Recent Welsh National Trainers

  • 2016 - C Tizzard
  • 2015 - K Lee
  • 2014 - V Williams
  • 2013 - R Lee
  • 2012 - M Scudamore
  • 2011 - R Lee
  • 2010 - J O'Neill
  • 2009 - P Hobbs
  • 2008 - J Dreaper
  • 2007 - Robert Alner
  • 2006 - Alan King
  • 2005 - P. F. Nicholls
  • 2004 - P. F. Nicholls
  • 2003 - N A Twiston-Davies
  • 2002 - Jonjo O’Neill
  • 2001 - P G Murphy
  • 2000 - Miss Venetia Williams
  • 1999 - H D Daly
  • 1998 - N J Hawke
  • 1997 - N A Twiston-Davies

We can not finish this section without mentioning Martin Pipe who trained Bonanza Boy to win the race in 1988 and 1989, and two years later in 1991 Carvill's Hill was one of the best ever winners of the race. Jenny Pitman trained the Grand National hero Corbière to success in this race in the 1982/83 season.

New posts have just been added
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.